Activation Levels

The Edmond Emergency Operations Center (EOC) operates at one of three levels of readiness in order to carry out its mission.

The Edmond Emergency Management department is constantly monitoring for threats, severe weather, unusual events or situations. The purpose of activating the EOC as a result of a disaster is to centralize response and recovery decisions, plans, and operational activities in order to maximize the efficiency, quality, and quantity of resources.

There are 3 levels of activation:

Level III: Monitoring & Assessment

Level III is typically a monitoring and assessment phase where a specific threats, severe weather, unusual events or situations, is actively monitored by the Edmond Emergency Management department.

Level II: Partial

Level II partial activation is typically limited agency activation. City staff with a role in the incident response are activated and required to report to the EOC.

Level I: Full-Scale

In a full-scale activation, the EOC is activated on a 24-hour schedule due to an imminent threat or occurrence of a disaster.